Florida Statute § 790.01 makes it illegal for anyone to carry a concealed weapon without a license. Carrying a concealed weapon which is anything less than a firearm is punishable as a misdemeanor, while carrying a concealed firearm without a license is punishable as a felony.
Florida also has a 10-20-Life statute, also commonly referred to as the “use a gun and you’re done” statute embodied in Florida Statute § 775.082, which is used as a sentencing enhancement for defendants who commit crimes with firearms. Statute § 775.082 was written with the specific legislative intent to prosecute defendants who use guns to the fullest extent of the law.
First offence with firearm = 10 year minimum sentence
Second offence with firearm = 20 year minimum sentence
Third offence with firearm = Life sentence
If you need legal counsel concerning weapons charges, please contact Ben Bollinger at the number to the left or below. A Panama City native with a law practice in Bay County since 1996, Ben Bollinger is familiar with the intricacies of local law and dedicated to providing top-notch defense against criminal charges.